First Page Last Page
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share on StumbleUpon
Author

Sidechain

Rework
IsraTrance Junior Member
Started Topics :  27
Posted : May 15, 2014 14:46:03
Sometimes I like to sidechain, and im pretty sure whats going on when I sidechain, but im no pro, so I just listen and stop messing with it when I feel it sounds good.

But when do you use sidechain, whats is the main purpose with sidechain? can some one explain what I should think about before I sidechain, and when I sidechain and so on.

Short version: I seek clever and useful words about sidechain

(Im using fruity loops, and mostly makes psytrance at 145bpm)
          https://soundcloud.com/peter-fh
frisbeehead
IsraTrance Junior Member
Started Topics :  10
Posted : May 15, 2014 15:38
most often, if you mean sidechain compression it's about ducking a sound (lowering its volume) when another one plays. so in a way, you're establishing a connection, you're clearing space (headroom) so the two don't clash, don't make the volume suddenly rise, so that everything is more controlled.

but compressors are, sort of, automatic volume tolls. but as everything in music, time is also a huge factor.

so if you duck everything in the mix using your Kick as input, depending on the release you set, you'll have it all pumping with the Kick - this can be cool sometimes. if you set, for example, some hi hat to duck the closed hats, you can make it sound like older drum machines that would do this by default... if you set some auxiliary reverb bus channel you can duck the reverb with the original instead of using pre delay time, so as to clear the transients away from the reverb - makes it much more clear btw, not always best solution though.

thing is, it's got many uses but it's all within this context. hope it helps. cheers

supergroover
IsraTrance Junior Member

Started Topics :  39
Posted : May 15, 2014 21:07