Trance Forum » » Forum  DJing - where do i start
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share on StumbleUpon
Author

where do i start

PSYDUDE
IsraTrance Full Member

Started Topics :  54
Posted : Aug 7, 2011 08:18:05
ok im just starting with hole djing so i have traktor pro 2 i need any help im a tottal noob so tutorials and tips please help
V3NOM
Inactive User

Started Topics :  131
Posted : Aug 7, 2011 08:32
1. Listen to all your music that you will play heaps until the point you have a pretty clear idea of where they might fit together.

2. Get some gear cheap (secondhand) or some software demo's or download & have a go.

3. If you like it then the big step is learning to beat match. It's not hard, if you know your tunes well then it's just a matter of getting the tempo right and then dropping each track in on time. Like riding a bike, once you get it you won't forget. I remember the first time I figured out out how to beat match properly and I was like "Oh damn that's actually really simple". Especially with 4x4 music. Even broken beat or DnB is pretty easy, the only music I ever had much trouble mixing was old school jungle.

Off topic, but I always find it amazing when I hear a DJ playing and cannot beat match properly. It's really REALLY easy!!

Once you get basic down then you can work on how to build up a set using the breaks and climaxes to take the crowd on a crazy ride